Which foods are gluten free?

All fruits and vegetables are gluten-free in their natural state. All meats are also naturally gluten-free. There is some debate among researchers whether the meat of grain-fed animals, and poultry, can contain traces of gluten in their meat. Currently, all meat is considered gluten-free in its natural state, not breaded etc.

Gluten-free foods

These foods should be as little-processed as possible. Avoid breaded products especially.

GF symbol 2
Do not assume a product is gluten-free unless the label carries the words gluten-free, and/or the symbol (an ear of wheat with a line across it)

  • Potatoes
  • Fruit and vegetables
  • Beans
  • Legumes – lentils, peas and chickpeas etc.
  • Seeds
  • Nuts
  • Eggs
  • Most Dairy Products
  • Corn
  • Fish
  • Meat
  • Chicken and other Poultry

Gluten-free Grains

  • Amaranth

  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat (despite the name, this is actually part of the same family as Rhubarb and Sorrel)
  • Cassava
  • Millet
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Sago (also known as Milo)
  • Sorghum
  • Tapioca